Due to Florida car laws, you won’t be filing a lawsuit for a car accident right off the bat. Instead, you’ll need to speak to your insurance adjuster about seeking extra compensation for your losses.
If you have never experienced a car accident in Boynton Beach, Florida, you may not know how to proceed with the process. Speaking to your insurance adjuster is not the same as speaking to your doctor. Instead of being open and honest, you have to be careful about what you say and how you phrase certain details about your accident.
Have you recently been involved in a car accident? Wondering what you should say to your insurance adjuster? Here’s our attorney’s expert advice on how to go about this situation.
How To File A Claim With Your Insurance
Florida requires every driver to carry a certain amount of insurance for situations like these. Since the state follows a modified comparative fault rule, your insurance claim is the first one you’ll file before deciding if you qualify for a lawsuit.
It’s a requirement for drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and property damage liability. If you were struck by another driver and need help covering any medical bills or receiving your insurance benefits, you will call your adjuster and ask for your PIP coverage.
To do this, you will contact your insurance rep and let them know you were involved in an accident. They will begin the investigation into your accident and possibly look at the following to distinguish how much you should get back:
- Photos of the accident
- Your medical records
- Police report
- Witness statements
It will take at least a month for your insurance adjuster to investigate your claim and find proof of what you say. Once they are finished with the investigation, you will be offered a settlement that will likely not be the full $10,000 of your PIP. If you feel shorthanded in what you’re being offered, a Boynton Beach Car Accident Lawyer can help you negotiate more.
What Not To Say To Your Insurance Adjuster
It’s important to note that if you have never had to file a claim with your insurance company before, there are certain words and phrases to not say to reduce the risk of your claim being denied or shortened.
Sadly, your insurance company is not out to be your best friend and offers you the most help after a traumatic accident. They are a business, so anyway they can save money, they will seize the opportunity.
Here are some things not to say to your insurance adjuster when you file a claim after an auto accident in Florida:
- “I’m sorry” statements
- Opinionated phrases (“I think” or “I feel”)
- Saying that you are fine when asked about your injuries
- Names or recorded statements
- Unnecessary details
Some of these phrases can be incriminating for you without you realizing it. If you were to say “I’m sorry” or that you should have paid more attention, your insurance adjuster can use these against you as you admitting fault for the accident. Any time you say things that can be spun as admitting fault, your claim will likely be denied or significantly reduced.
Opinionated phrases should be avoided at all costs since these can be used against you as well. If you don’t know the answer to a question that is asked of you, don’t say anything that’s either a guess or opinion.
Another big no-no is to avoid giving names or recorded statements since your insurance adjuster may try to contact these people for additional information to use against you without you knowing. The same goes for unnecessary details.
Offering too much information to your adjuster can do more harm than good, so you should be selective in the information you hand out when being asked about your accident.
Information You Need To Have For Your Claim
When you file a claim with your insurance adjuster, they will treat the claim like an investigation and ask for certain details.
Other than generic information about the accident, such as when did it happen, how did it happen, and what vehicle of yours was involved, they may ask for other information.
They may ask for photos of the accident to see proof of vehicle damage or physical injuries sustained from the accident. If your adjuster asks to see the police report, it will be to determine who’s fault it was recorded by law enforcement since these reports are often unbiased. The same goes for medical records.
Your insurance adjuster may also want to take a look at your vehicle for themselves in order to inspect how much damage was done, which will be calculated into your losses.
If your adjuster begins to ask for information you are not comfortable sharing, speak to your attorney first before providing information.
Before You Go To Your Insurance, Speak With An Attorney
Speaking of attorneys, it’s always a good idea to have a skilled legal expert working with you to file your claim before you run into any issues with your adjuster. A Boynton Beach Car Accident Lawyer knows how tricky adjusters can be at trying to get civilians to slip up, so you can feel protected by working with a lawyer.
Another benefit to hiring a lawyer for your claim is that they will do the speaking for you. After reviewing your case with your attorney in-depth, they will run through all evidence and do the negotiating on your behalf to your adjuster to make sure A) you receive a successful settlement the first time around or B) that your adjuster does not try to shorthand you with any compensation or benefits.
It may also be worth it to consult with an attorney if your case is severely complex and a lot was lost. While it’s not common for Floridians to have the ability to file a car accident lawsuit, a few cases do meet the requirements, and this is another avenue for seeking extra compensation for your damages.
Contact Frankl Kominsky Injury Lawyers Today
Car accidents are difficult enough to handle, but it’s even more difficult when you’re trying to be smart about what you say to your insurance adjuster.
The experts at Frankl Kominsky Injury Lawyers have the skills and backgrounds when it comes to handling auto accidents and conversing with insurance adjusters. We know how to look at all evidence and speak to these professionals on your behalf to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.
Suffering medically from a car accident can be devastating for the individual and their family. Let us fight for you the best way we know how to seek extra compensation.
To get started, you will need to set up a free consultation with one of our attorneys by either calling our firm at (561) 800-8000 or filling out our online free case evaluation form.
Florida’s Statute of Limitations says that there is a two-year deadline to file a claim from the date of your crash. Don’t let any more time pass you by. Call us today.